Land Acknowledgement

As a statewide lands, waters, and wildlife conservation organization, New Mexico Wild’s work takes place on the traditional lands of the first inhabitants of the southwest. We recognize and honor the indigenous peoples, past and present, that have protected and stewarded these lands since time immemorial. The 24 tribes of New Mexico, comprised of Apache, Navajo, and Pueblo nations, continue to guide and inspire our work protecting our shared natural heritage. We will continue to support and elevate the essential voices of Tribes and Pueblos in our on-going conservation efforts.

New Mexico Context

New Mexico has a vibrant and highly visible Native American population. Native American citizens make up nearly 10.5% of the state’s entire population. There are 23 federally recognized Native Nations located in New Mexico – nineteen Pueblos, three Apache nations, and the Navajo Nation. Each Tribe and Pueblo is a sovereign nation with its own government, traditions, language, and cultural practices. Native Nations have a unique treaty-based relationship with federal and state governments. The Native Nations in New Mexico consist of the Fort Sill, Jicarilla, and Mescalero Apache Tribes, the Navajo Nation, and the twenty Pueblos comprised of the Pueblos of Acoma, Cochiti, Isleta, Jemez, Kewa, Laguna, Nambe, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris, Pojoaque, Sandia, San Felipe, San Ildefonso, Santa Ana, Santa Clara, Taos, Tesuque, Ysleta del Sur, Zuni and Zia.