Urgent Call to Action: Stop the Land Grab Bill

This morning we need your help to stop radical efforts that threaten the Rio Grande del Norte, Organ Mountains-Desert Peaks, Bosque del Apache, and 19 million more acres of our public lands.

HB 292 and its companion SB 404 (the Transfer of Public Lands Act) will be heard in the House Health, Government & Indian Affairs Committee and Senate Conservation Committees, respectively, this Thursday, February 14 (today).

This bill would cost New Mexico more than $200 million per year, result in the loss of 2000 jobs, and allow drilling, mining, and industrial development to run roughshod over our wild public lands!  This bill would threaten public access to millions of acres where we hike, camp, hunt, and fish! Places like Bosque del Apache, the Pecos Mountains, Organ Mountains, Valles Caldera, Valle Vidal, Rio Grande Gorge, and Sandia Mountains could be sold and developed.

Most legal scholars have concluded that bills like this are unconstitutional, so New Mexico would be in for a costly legal battle. It would cost $500,000 just to create a taskforce to study the idea.  If implemented, this bill would eliminate thousands of jobs and damage our $3.8 billion outdoor recreation economy.

It only takes minute to call or e-mail your legislators to let them know why you oppose this land grab bill.

House of Representatives Health, Government and Indian Affairs Committee 

James Roger Madalena: james.madalena@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4840

Nick L. Salazar: (505) 986-4433

Alonzo Baldonado: alonzo.baldonado@nmlegis.gov,  (505) 986-4227

Kelly K. Fajardo: kelly.fajardo@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4220

Nate Gentry: natefornm@gmail.com, (505) 986-4757

Yvette Herrell: yherrell@yahoo.com, (505) 986-4248

Emily Kane: emilykane4nm@gmail.com, (505) 986-4464

Rodolpho “Rudy” S. Martinez: rodolpho.martinez@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4235

Terry H. McMillan: docmcmillan@gmail.com, (505) 986-4450

Elizabeth “Liz” Thomson: liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4255

Luciano “Lucky” Varela: lucky4st@msn.com, (505) 986-4320

 

Senate Conservation Committee 

Peter Wirth: peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4861

Benny Shendo, Jr.:benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4310

Joseph Cervantes:Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com, (505) 986-4385

Phil A. Griego: senatorgriego@yahoo.com, (505) 986-4513

Richard C. Martinez: richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4487

William H. Payne: william.payne@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4703

William E. Sharer: bill@williamsharer.com, (505) 986-4381

William P. Soules: bill.soules@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4856

Pat Woods: pat.woods@nmlegis.gov, (505) 986-4393

John C. Ryan: john.ryan@nmlegis.gov,  (505) 986-4373

Share / Bookmark / Email

Thank you for visiting! Come back soon...